Tu me manques.

This English teacher is awesome.

Stories of Words and Dreams

language

to-have-another-language-is-to-possess-_charlemagne-quote

Easily the most frustrating thing about speaking French for me is that my limited vocabulary prevents me from being able to express myself as well as I would like at times. I have to be very literal, because the expressions that I use in English can’t be translated and I have not yet mastered the French ones.

As I spend more time immersed in the French language (although I am occasionally accosted in Dutch and that’s a whole other kettle of brain-warping fish), I am gaining new experiences with each word that I speak. I am forging links with the language that I am using through different contexts and different people. I am developing a more profound understanding of the nuances in the language. When I speak, I don’t always have a clear English translation for what I am saying. At least not in the forefront of my mind anyway. This…

View original post 552 more words

Leave a Reply

