“Break out, yeah”

During 2006 I composed a rant against the too-easy target of office work, with added poetic and lyrical influences, while waiting for the intellectual freedom of University.

If you can keep your head when all about you
Are losing theirs and blaming it on you;
(Rudyard Kipling – If)

Sick of it all.
Around me. Noise. Irrelevance. Consumerism. Junk.
Blame and tears and sweat and frustrations.

I’m sick of working all week for people I can not stand.
I’m sick of holding on to my actions in the palm of my hand. (Lostprophets “Everybody’s Screaming”)

It’s night at a bus stop, I stand rushed
Everything seems like ages ago
Carried along into the night
Empty roads and dark lights

If you can bear to hear the truth you’ve spoken
Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
Or watch the things you gave your life to broken,
And stoop and build ’em up with wornout tools; (Rudyard Kipling – If)

Sick of work, two parallel jobs.
Of nine delegators, of me being one person.
One after the other, interruptions and no second chances
Misinformation and corruptive communication
Treated like a little kid

Still so young and desperate for attention. (Panic! At the Disco “Martyrdom and Suicide is Press Coverage”)

It’s hard not to care. And in caring, panic.
Should I be worried if I can’t do any of it?
Answer me. Listen to me.
It is too much.

If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you,
But make allowance for their doubting too; (Rudyard Kipling – If)

When in my mind, all the time…
What I’m living for.
Panic rises. Anger bubbles. Tears cry.
All the while, something I want to see around me.
Something I want to do.

Until the break of dawn
Life, Life, Cannot go by the letter
Time, Time, Prozac can make it better
Noise, Noise, any kind will do
Can you feel it slip away, well it’s all on you (The Offspring “Original Prankster”)

Are we going to keep taking the same messages?
Are we going to risk it all by playing it safe?
Are we going to stop living to stay alive?

“Oh, you’re doing that at University?
But, do you have any aspirations?”
(Retail Operations Manager 2007)

To keep hold of that originality.
Our innocence and appreciation and joy.
That morality, that humanity, that defiance
Of callous profit.
When we have nothing to prove

Knock down the walls-It’s alive in you
Knock down the place-You’re alone it’s true
Knock down the world-It’s alive in you
You’re gonna keep your head up through it all
You’re gonna bust out on it
Original Prankster
Break out, yeah
Original, yeah
Bust out on it
Original Prankster
You’ll never stop now, stop now… (The Offspring “Original Prankster”)

Leave a Reply

